IN AND RIGHT BACK OUT

Quick post because I felt this anticipation, followed by having that anticipation being shot down and replaced with an acceptance that having said anticipation shot down, crashing and burning, is all right. Yet, I still can’t but think, “well sh-t.”

After returning to blogging and writing, I started up my Twitter account again. I haven’t used it in over a year, after I stopped, so I thought I might as well get back into it. Then, a recommended video pops up on my YouTube front page from TED x Tysons entitled: Quit Social Media.

So, I clicked. I watched. The speaker, Dr. Cal Newport made interesting points and counter-arguments for some (specifically, 3 reasons) as to why being active in social media is all right. All of these points valid, reasonable, articulated, and (depending on the person) convincing.

It may not be for everyone, but I acted on this after taking a few minutes to ponder on it. I was going to get back into social media and there was an excitement to it; and then logic and reason struck me. Logic and reason that was compelling to me.

I am now back out just as quick as I was back in. I’m not sorry, Twitter (bird), but you’re dead to me, again.

Leave a Reply

