WORKING ON “BUT”

So, one thing I’ve been working on is trying to reduce saying (or writing) “but” in a sentence. It’s still a work-in-progress, as I had to rewrite this sentence since the first iteration read: “…still a work-in-progress, but…”

I’m trying to not negate anything and everything I say by stating “but” afterwards while expanding my vocabulary. Realizing the limited extent of ones own vocabulary is depressing. On that note, bookmarking and subscribing to Dictionary.com for a “Word of the Day” is one way I’m attempting to remedy this.

“Just start using bigger words (appropriately).” is something I should write on a sticky note and attach on the corner of one of my monitors. Cheers, and bless sticky notes. I’ll be sure to leave a trail of them during a zombie apocalypse.

Leave a Reply

