STILL SOLID OVER A YEAR LATER

As a “Year Later Gamer,” I finally caught myself up and played the final installment of the Metal Gear Solid franchise, The Phantom Pain. Literally, every moment of free time dedicated to playing this game, and it was a complete blast.

To get it out of the way: I am a fan of the Metal Gear Solid series, though, not so much the Metal Gear games. That might have to do with the order and time to which I was exposed to them, as I played them after the first three Metal Gear Solids and before the fourth, but I digress.

Well worth the time, effort, and the wait. I guess “better later than never” fits well here, since playing it a year (and five months) later did not diminish the fun I had one bit. Granted, I avoided spoilers passively by never searching for them or MGSV related content, such as reviews.

The world (of gaming) kept on moving as I crawled on the floor and underneath a rock to experience what Kojima had to offer. Such a delight it was to have questions answered and the franchise finally closed.

That said, I’m still being weary of Death Stranding, while excited for it. I’m well past the point of being hyped without a video or demo of gameplay. A game (aside the dead PT) that has Hideo Kojima, Guillermo del Toro, and Norman Reedus involved? Has to be good – even great – right?

Maybe, I’m not so sure anymore. I’ve seen projects where the cast and crew look top-notch, and the end result leaves me baffled on how things came out either bad or mediocre. Off the top of my head, the movie Burnt, comes to mind.

I should be hyped, and if you’re hyped, be hyped. The last thing I want to do is rain on the parade of someone else, though I may have inadvertently done so. My point being: all hype shall be reserved until gameplay footage is shown. And even then, any and all elements are subject to change.

I’d like to point out that IGN released an article on Feb. 13 about “Everything We Know About Death Stranding So Far.” Though admirable, the first part of the introduction pretty much sums it all up: “We don’t know much about Death Stranding yet…”

Kudos to Chloi Rad, who wrote the article, as anyone that didn’t know anything or much about Death Stranding can be filled in rather quickly. As for everyone that has been keeping up with Death Stranding, do as I am and ignore its existence until 2018. By that time, you can resurge your interest when more information – and perhaps gameplay footage – is available.

So, cheers, everyone! And may you all live to see the day when it becomes mandatory for all people to be injected with nano-machines for reasons  unknown other than: “You have to.” Hopefully, we can get a cool sneaking suit, though I doubt it would very flattering on some figures (like me). I guess I would settle for a cardboard box.

Leave a Reply

